Day 129

Sunday May 13

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet the 15th place finisher in the national chess tournament in Nashville, TN this weekend–a big shout out to my hero (and son) Pierce!

So, Mother’s Day rocks. Happy day to all the moms out there and to all the people who love my children and so many others like a mom–our family, friends, babysitters, teachers, neighbors, and the generally nice group of villagers it takes to raise happy and healthy kids.

I’m a big believer in it takes a village–I’ve never believed that I could do it all alone (not a big surprise if you know me) and so I share today with so many, many people and I hope you do too.

And the chess champ thing, well, that’s just impressive. And I definitely didn’t have anything to do with it. It’s more than I could have even wished for.

Speaking of wishes, I read a great blog piece today Am I Mom Enough? A Motherhood Wish List where a mother reflects beautifully on what she really wants to teach her child. I tried desperately to have a few favorites, but they’re all my favorite, so here’s a few:

I hope I raise a child who will stick up for a kid who’s being bullied on the playground. I also hope I raise a child who, if he’s the one being bullied, fights back. Hard. Oh, and if he’s the bully? I hope he realizes that his mother, who once wore brown plastic glasses and read the phone book on the school bus, will cause him more pain than a bully ever could.

I hope I raise a child who is courageous when sick and grateful when healthy.

I hope I raise a child who relishes life’s tiny pleasures—whether it’s a piece of music, or the color of a gorgeous flower, or Chinese takeout on a rainy Sunday night.

Anyway, read it if you want to, it’s touching. And a bit affirming depending on your perspective.

My day started with breakfast in bed (nuts & berries)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then the first ever trip to the dog park (we all survived, thank you for asking)

Then a delicious Whole30 Mom’s Day Breakfast: eggs & avocado, kale & sausage, sweet potato hash browns, berries and cream

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Normally I would use these fancy glasses for mimosas, but this is satisfying and delicious!

Then a deep clean on both kids rooms (like the 5-hour, 2 trip to Goodwill kind). Great bonding with my Mom who is an awesome project genius. Thanks Mom!

Then a Whole30 dinner (hamburger, chicken, brussel sprouts, 1/4 sweet potato) with lots of leftovers for the week.

No WOD today.

And this is just plain funny.

 

 

 

 

 

Choose happiness always.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 129

  1. Ken Wright says:

    WOW Pierce! Way to go! I’ve never seen a bigger trophy than that!

    When you visit Australia with your family you will have to teach me some of these “National Winning Moves” haha Ken

Leave a Reply

