Day 126

Thursday, May 10

Up a little late, waiting for a call that Rob and Pierce have arrived in Nashville for chess nationals. So proud!

Also thinking about a great group of people who joined me for dinner tonight. Most of them graduate from ISU tomorrow and I know they will change the world.

The great joys of my life!

Though, earlier today, I turned into a stress ball while I was getting ready for work. This doesn’t happen often, but it happens sometimes (if I’m honest about it).

I mussed and fussed with what to wear and ended up in a drum-drab pair of old pants and an ill-fitting sweater. I looked ready to slouch in my chair all day, looking and feeling as sorry for myself as possible.

And then I realized. I’m dressed like my mood.

It’s a peculiar dilemma to consider if my mood made me dress that way, or, my head made me dress that way to ensure that my mood would continue.

What’s remarkable is that I’m learning enough about myself to notice this and make an intentional decision to change my mood (and my clothes)!

Moments later, in a trendy black-and-white dress with a red belt and heels, I went bounding down the stairs with confidence. I decided right then and there to kick my mood to the curb and make the most of the day.

Maybe I’m wrong about all of it; perhaps it’s too simple that clothes can change my mood, but it has to start somewhere.

And it worked. I felt great all day.

Choose your mood.

Red shoes help.

13 Min AMRAP

1 Power Snatch (95/65lbs)  ( ** Scale for this will be Clean/Jerk**)

1 Toes To Bar

2 Power Snatch

2 Toes To Bar

3 Power Snatch

3 Toes To Bar

4 Power Snatch

4 Toes To Bar

5 Power Snatch

5 Toes To Bar

6 Power Snatch

6 Toes To Bar

**After every EVEN (2, 4, 6,8,10 etc)  round you will complete 2 Wall Climbs**

Continue in this fashion for the duration of the 13 Minutes.

8 rounds + Wall Climbs RX

Nutrition:

PWO SFH shake

3 eggs, 1/2 avocado, kale & sausage, sweet potato hash

leftover veggie lasagna; zucchini; 1/2 avocado

1/2 lara bar

4 oz steak; 3 oz chicken

green salad

broccoli

coconut cream

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 126

  1. Ken Wright says:

    We can choose our mood…I love it….I’m out shopping for Red Shoes!

    Actually I wear colored socks…red my favorite…and my red and black Brooks Minimus runners…
    I can take on the World!

    I hope Rob does well in the Nationals haha I’m sure Pierce will do very well, in fact he has, just to be there is a fantastic effort and he will learn so much. Best wishes to him.

    Back to MOOD….The Harvard Business Review had a whole review on “The Leaders Mood determines the Culture of an Organization” and anyone who has worked for a moody Boss will agree in a heartbeat.
    Boss, Parent or Partner we all need to be mindful of the perceptions we create….We might not be in a bad mood….but it can be perceived as such if we are distracted or distant to those around us.
    Life is complicated isn’t it!!
    But as an ex Aussie Prime Minister said “Life wasn’t meant to be easy!” KW

  2. I love this post. I completely agree about the clothes helping to change the mood. Love reason your dailies, such an inspiration and source of motivation for me. Thank you for sharing your journey!

  3. I love this post. I’m a form believer that we do have control over our mood, and clothes DEFINITELY help influence it. Particularly for women. I enjoy reading your dailies. Such a source of inspiration and motivation for me. I’m on Day 14 of my very first Whole 30 experience, and love reading about others’ journeys. Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

