Day 119

Thursday, May 3

Back to movie night. Hungry for Change was a great flick and I learned a ton.

Tonight, on the eve of 120 days of Whole30, I’m going to focus on diets as discussed in the movie.

Here’s the summary:

People following diets (in any form, since there are many) are “barking up the wrong tree” because diets are “superficial.” Diets focus primarily (sometimes exclusively) on results that we can see since most diets gauge success by the amount of weight lost. Beyond this, our biological framework doesn’t respond well to the restrictive approach that is often a hallmark of these diets, which is why they often fail. However, a more sustainable and healthy lifestyle avoids diets, and builds a healthy body from the inside out. This is accomplished through healthy choices and nutrition that establish a lifestle that provides the building blocks for “beauty from the inside out.”

Of course, the movie leaves little to the imagination about what nutrition is (and isn’t). But before I go there in a future post, I want to focus on how relevant the “inside out” message is to me.

For those of you who have been reading for a while, you know I’ve struggled a bit with results. Whether the number on the scale or the measuring tape, I’ve fallen into the trap of superficial results and my expectations have sometimes outpaced my reality. Meanwhile, day to day, this lifestyle has become an integrated part of my life. This is such a part of who I am that it feels like I’ve been doing it forever (some of you think 120 days is forever–I would have agreed with you 120 days ago!). What’s so easy for me to overlook, though, even after all of this effort, is the significant impact this has had that I can’t see. No doubt,  I’m building health and beauty “from the inside out.”

And just because I can’t see it doesn’t mean it isn’t there.

This isn’t about a quick fix or an overnight success or one magic pill that can change how I look. This is about a sustainable lifestyle that is building a solid foundation from the inside out by improving my relationship with food and maximizing optimum health.

Saturday I will have another check-in. My goal is to focus on success–no matter what–and to celebrate who I know I am on the inside.

WOD:

WOD:  #mini marathon

For Time

26 Box Jumps (24/20)

200m Run

26 Toes to Bar

200m Run

26 KB Swings (53/35lbs)

200m Run

26 Overhead Walking Lunges (45/25lbs) (R/L=2)

200m Run

26 Sit Ups

200m Run

26 BW Squats

200m Run

26 Burpees

200m Run

15:42 RX

Nutrition:

PWO SFH shake

2 eggs, 1/2 avocado, kale, chicken sausage

Leftover spaghetti squash, meat sauce

Coconut

New recipe: Pina Colada Chicken from Clothes Make the Girl

So delicious. Definitely something different. I felt like I needed something new and this did the trick. Rob also liked it.

I didn’t have cauliflower so I skipped it and put the peppers and onion in the chicken.

I also made sweet potato and kale chips.

Time to get some sleep!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

