Day 73

Sunday, March 18

Today’s mantra!

When I did the 12.4 CrossFit Games WOD yesterday, I knew it wasn’t my best work. So today I faced it again, head on, and nailed it. Well, I didn’t get any muscle ups (even though I had 2:30 minutes to try), but I finished 150 wall balls (6:31-new PR for “Karen”) and 90 double unders. Thanks to Ali, Brett, Janelle, Tom, and Mark for an amazing morning. (Summary: yesterday, I finished 150 wall balls and 64 double unders with no time to spare. Today I did 150 wall balls and 90 double unders with 2:30 to spare.)

There are few better feelings than exceeding your own expectations. Especially after you feel disappointment. The key is, to feel this, you must try again. And, you must always keep trying. You owe it to yourself.

When you know you’ve done your very best, if it still doesn’t happen, it wasn’t meant to be. But when you know your best is still left to do, show courage, try again, and do it!

And to make today even better, I read this article from Experience Life magazine. While I’ve just been reading this magazine online, I think I will order it because it looks so great. Everything I’ve read has been so interesting.

More than almost anything I’ve read lately, though, this article puts words to what I’ve been up to the last 73 days.

The main idea is that maintaining weight isn’t just about the number of calories you eat. Its more about the quality of those calories.

The main points are organized into five “health-boosting priorities that really matter in losing unwanted weight and keeping it off” (key phrase for me is keeping it off!)

1. Metabolism: Dial it up!

Not all calories are created equal. Burn baby, burn! Protein & veggies come in first!

2. Inflammation: Cool it!

The Whole30 is all about decreasing inflammation. Processed foods, diet foods, low-fat foods, and so on contain preservatives and chemicals that harm the body. Take it from someone who is preservative-free for 73 days–it is completely and totally worth it.

3. Mood: Boost it

Wholesome foods make moods more vibrant! Couldn’t agree more.

4. Blood sugar: Keep it balanced

Eat healthy protein, fats, and fiber-rich vegetables and decrease grains and sugar. Glucose (and even the appearance of it in diet soda) is hard on the body.

5. Your gut: Heal it

Eliminate foods that you don’t tolerate well, replace them with healthy vegetables and berries, and be patient. Read yesterday that just losing weight doesn’t mean the metabolism is healed. That’s why consistency is key!

There is more information in the article, including ideas about specific foods and more. I think its a great “elevator speech” for what the Whole30 is all about!

WOD: You got that, right!? (see above)

Food:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pre-WOD: 2 eggs, kale, sweet potato chips, 1/4 avocado

PWO: SFH Protein

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

EAT A SALAD! (Chicken, red pepper, cucumber, tomato, avocado)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kale and Sweet Potatoes almost made those wall balls worth it!

Dinner: Leftovers: Salad (like the lunch salad), 1/2 bilinsk’s chicken sausage, kale, sweet potato

Coconut cream

Pearl and her horse say have a great week! And thanks for reading. Knowing you’re reading keeps me writing (and doing wall balls!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 73

  1. courtney mehalek says:

    Congrats on the wall balls! All your pictures always look so yummy and pearly looks so cute 🙂

  2. Donna says:

    Love it! You are simply amazing! I know, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I adore everything about you! I most honor your growth, it’s fabulous to be a part of this journey. You are magnificent! May God continue to bless you richly!

  3. mom says:

    Great wookout. I am going right to this magazine. Pearl … love the smile.. love you both.

Leave a Reply

