Day 70

Thursday, March 15

I caught myself feeling shocked today when I told someone it was day 70. It just sounds so much further along I guess.

There’s something to the number 70, though, so hear me out. As I’ve called this my 2012 wellness journey, I’ve decided to devote a year to focus on health. I’ve been a little curious why 2012 is the year I decided to step it up–I’m considering that on some unconscious level I actually believe the Mayans are right about the collapse of civilization, so I figure, why not?

More likely is my realization that this year, in 2012, I turn 35. And 35 is a lot more than 34. Because 35 is half way to 70. There’s that number. 70.

Let me be clear, I’m not talking about 70 because I think it means you’re old. Some of the coolest people I know are knocking on 70s door.

It’s just that for the first time in a while, I’m thinking about my next birthday and then what life will be like with another lifetime on top of that. And that means when I’m 70.

I can’t begin to imagine what the world will be like. Part of me wants to talk about how lucky I’ll be to be experiencing the world in 2047–for a kid that grew up loving the Back to the Future movies I’ve been waiting a long time for the future! What I’m beginning to realize, though, and what’s probably more likely my subconscious drive (since the damn Mayans are wrong), is that when it comes to being healthy and well, “luck” isn’t something you take for granted.

Does the universe positively rock sometimes and positively suck other times and is that luck? Absolutely. But, if I’m going to have a supreme quality of life in 2047 can I leave that all to luck? Not a chance.

So in my version of the story, 2012 is a very healthy year. No civilization collapse on the horizon as far as I can see, and I am building a strong foundation for wellness for my next 35 years. I’m not counting on luck to see me through, rather, I’ve begun a journey to optimum health because I care about my quality of life and I know my choices today will impact my future. In 2047. When I’m 70. After I turn 35.

WOD:

Swim 1800 m this morning; run 3 miles this afternoon

Food:

PWO SFH shake

2 eggs, sweet potato hash browns, chicken sausage & kale, 1/2 avocado

salad w/ tuna, red pepper, 1/2 avodado

Apple, handful of hazelnuts

New recipe! Stuffed Anaheim Chili Peppers from Paleo for Foodies

So good. I used ground chicken for the meat and skipped some of the jalapenos (I did use one in the sauce). I packed 4 poblano peppers with 2 lbs of meat. Delicious. I will definitely make again. The sauce is also very good. It tastes like a fresh salsa. It could have many other uses in your kitchen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also made the Mexican Rice recipe mentioned in the Paleo For Foodies post.

Also very good. I received compliments from Rob and a friend of ours who was over for dinner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I served this with a green salad.

Tonight I made some coconut vanilla cookies from The Prudent Wife. I highly recommend.

So I wonder if blogs will exist in 2047? Why don’t you read a lot right now, just in case.

By the way, I know you do read a lot, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart. Knowing you’re reading keeps me writing.

That and knowing civilization is going to collapse, of course.

This entry was posted in Daily Reports, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 70

  1. Donna says:

    God, I hope not! (the collapse of course) at least not until I get home and kiss my adorable husband good-bye! Love your style Jen!

  2. karolyn grimm says:

    great job! just wondering, you eat coconut flour ‘sweets’? whole30’s website says this is a big no-no. i’m planning on starting the program and would be soooo excited if we could eat it!
    karolyn

    • Hi Karolyn. It depends. You’re right–strict W30 would say take a 30 day break from any treats. For me, that was the right thing to do. After lots of cleansing, I could return to coconut flour treats guilt free and in better balance. But. Make the call that’s right for your lifestyle and goals.

Leave a Reply

