Day 54

Tuesday, February 28

Let’s go drinking!

Alright, chill out. This isn’t the post where I confess that I cheated. Don’t worry; I didn’t fall off the wagon. And, no, you can’t even have my seat.

This is the title of an interesting post from Paleo Plan about how much water we should drink and how our system should be functioning (yes, that means how much you pee).

Yeah, you’re right, I’m a believer. Since I’ve had water, coffee, and hot tea since January 1, 2012 I’m pretty sold. I learned a lot from the article though and found the “Start your day hydrated” part very intriguing.

This suggests drinking 2 large glasses of water as soon as we wake up (in the article it’s before a 5:15 am morning workout that he coaches). This is important for 2 reasons which are news to me:

1. Since our body has spent the night fasting and detoxing during sleep, its important to drink water to flush out the toxins without starting the digestive system.

2. This helps fend off our hunger for breakfast and allows us to remain in the fasted state for a while longer.

The author suggests we try it and says (I love this line!) “You may find this conscious little addition to your nutrition brings an elevation to your condition!”

What a great concept! Little, simple additions that we choose consciously to take our healthy lifestyle up a notch. It is so empowering to think about little changes we can make! What a great way to keep evolving and taking it to the next level.

This is an interesting suggestion for me since I usually workout before eating anything and do so right after I wake up. Sure, I drink during the workout, but sometimes it is until after a full workout before I’ve had even 24 oz. of water. I’m going to make a conscious effort to hydrate with at least 32 oz of water before workout and see what happens. I will keep you posted.

Also, I’m going to keep searching for little additions that I can make to keep elevating my health and wellness. I think intentional tweaks followed by reflection is so exciting and will help me learn a lot. In fact, I’m sure some of these will become part of my lifestyle.

How much water are you drinking? Check out the full post for more details.

WOD:

#two for one

“Elizabeth” (10 min Cap)

21-15-9

Squat Cleans (135/85lbs)

Ring Dips

Did 21-15-9 (power cleans only on 9) with 65# and blue band on dips. Focused on deep squats but really felt slow and sore.

Once completed rest no longer than 3 minutes and complete the following:

5 Rds

10 Goblet Thrusters (53/35lbs)

1 Length Sprint

Rest 15 Seconds…basically your walk back to starting position.

Did this RX, finished the whole thing around 18:00 so this must have taken about 5:00

STRENGTH:

Strict Press – warm up – 75%x5, 80%x5, 85%x AMRAP

Made it to 6 reps @ 65 (challenging after yesterday’s WOD)

Food:

PWO 3 egg whites and a few raspberries

2 eggs, hash, sweet potato hashbrowns

Spinach salad w/ leftover fried chicken, brussel sprouts

Leftover Jambalaya, zucchini cakes, coconut cream

Oh, and WATER of course!

Thanks for reading! You make writing so much fun. Please feel free to share this with others.

This entry was posted in Daily Reports, Good bits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 54

  1. Max says:

    Hey Jen’s Whole 30!!

    Thanks for mentioning our “pee post” over at PaleoPlan.com!!

    I like how you embrace the idea that little changes can make a big difference! I can’t wait to see how your super-water-before-workout experiment goes! Keep us posted!

  2. Cindy says:

    I am going to be very conscious of my water intake. I know I can do better and will!!!

  3. Donna says:

    I’m a water drinker and this is right up my alley! I’m sharing this blog too!

Leave a Reply

