Day 53

Monday, February 27

My browsing of the interwebs has again brought about a great find.

Check out Mark and Angel Hack Life and their list of 12 Things to Start Caring About Today.

Be sure to read the full post to see their list, but I want to capture my thoughts on a few of the things that I feel especially motivated by.

1. Start caring about your own happiness. They suggest reading Stumbling on Happiness which Rob (my husband) just told me is one of his favorite books of all time. In fact, his word is “extraordinary”. This from a guy who reads about a dozen books to my every one. That means its good. He just offered me a copy. I think I’ll take it.

3. Start caring about how you invest your time everyday. One thing I think about is something I heard somewhere (so descriptive, I know!) which is to be sure you know what you’re saying “no” to when you say “yes” to something. I got a silly amount of joy today when I picked my children up from school early with time to spare for the park and an art project. How often do I say “yes” to things and “no” to the park?

4. Start caring about how you think and what you think about. My favorite! What a fantastic insight–be intentional and observational about your thoughts and how you talk to yourself. I’m most familiar with “self talk” through my children, but that concept relates to adults (me) readily.

8. Start caring about your health. Nuff said.

Be sure to check out the post and think about what you would like to start doing–today.

WOD: Did a team WOD with my 2 favorite pilots today. A big shout out to Wayne and Dave for not only rocking the WOD, but for reading the blog. I promised them a pilot joke.

Q: What is the ideal cockpit crew?
A: A pilot and a dog…the pilot is there to feed the dog, and the dog is there to bite the pilot in case he tries to touch anything.

Ahhh….funny. PG too. If you’re into R-rated jokes, there are lots of pilot ones out there too, just not on this blog.

Here is the WOD. We did 8 rounds plus some push press. I accidentally had 65# on the bar for about 2/3 of the time…I added wrong. Once I noticed, I went up to RX. Darn!

Team “Jack”

20 min AMRAP

10 Push Press (115/75lbs)

10 Swings (53/35lbs)

10 Box Jumps (24/20)

In teams of 2 or 3, complete  the Hero WOD Jack. You can not go to the next exercise until your partner (s) have completed their 10 reps. This is a great way to work together as a team and coach your team on.  Keep track of your teams rounds. Once ALL of your team members have completed all 3 exercises, that would be 1 round.

Food:

PWO: 4 egg whites, 6 raspberries

Breakfast: 2 eggs, leftover hash and sweet potato hashbrowns

Lunch: Leftover salmon on salad, leftover roasted veggies, coconut cream

Dinner: Paleo Jambalaya! (sort of my own recipe), Cauliflower “rice”, Brussel sprouts

Simple stuff!

1 onion chopped

1 tbl coconut oil

Chopped celery, peppers (red & green) and anything else you want to throw in.

1 lb (approx) W30 approved chicken breast, shrimp, chicken sausage

Simmer in broth (just barely cover all in skillet)

Put in a bunch of Frank’s Red Hot sauce (original is W30 approved)

season to taste

And nothing says I survived another council meeting like a little coconut cream:

This entry was posted in Daily Reports, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 53

  1. Wayne says:

    Dave and I encourage eachother not to touch anything in the cockpit. We don’t need dog.

    Great job on the WOD Jen.
    Your fast. I wanted more rest but when I’d look over at you, you’d be done telling me to “go”

  2. Ali says:

    Another great post. I’m intrigued to check out this book. I love that you’re working to improve on them because I see you (and your friend Jane;) as ones who really excel especially in the area of saying ‘yes’ to art projects for example. You already inspire me. I have batches of ‘dough’ around my house to prove it.
    Cheers to a day if intentional thoughts!

  3. mom says:

    Great post Jen! You are soooo awesome! thank you for so often saying ‘yes’ to me. I am definitely going to check out this book.

  4. Donna says:

    Amazing blog post! Shared on my FB page, twitter, and Renovate Your Lifestyle’s page. You share the most meaningful information. Always what I need to hear, when I need to hear it.

Leave a Reply

