Day 49

Thursday, February 23

Almost 50 days later, I’m ready to say it. Eating crap makes us want more crap. So stop it.

I know what you’re thinking. How can you trust a girl that hasn’t had sugar for 49 days? Or wine? Or dark chocolate?

Just hear me out.

Speaking of hearing things, how often have you heard these phrases,

“I have a sweet tooth”

“I need chocolate!”

“I can’t do diets that restrict what I can eat”

“I’m just going to have a little piece!”

“Its a special occasion”

Physically, these statements don’t make a lot of sense. Have you ever seen a “sweet” tooth or actually believe that if our body was going to need a food, that it would be a Snickers? Is it not our birthday until we have a big piece of cake?

So, if these are not actual physical needs, what are they?

I’m not using science to prove it, but I believe these are emotional needs. These are feelings, wants, and desires that are fed by our happiness, our sadness, our celebrations, our friendships, our alone time, our frustration, and our moods. Over time, we become convinced that these feelings are real, physical needs that can only be fulfilled with food.

So if we can physically live without it, then why is it so damn hard to give it up? Why does eating crap make us want more crap?

Key word, want.

We keep wanting it because we don’t deal with the emotional connection we have with food. We mistake our feelings for physical needs and we go back for more, after all, its just a little piece, and we workout… The cycle continues and it goes on and on. We’ll start the diet tomorrow.

You know this has been clicking for me over the lasts several weeks and today I read this blog post entitled Overcoming Emotional Blocks During Dietary Changes. Immediately, I thought, that’s it!

Eating crap makes us want more crap because we try so damn hard to make changes in our diet but we never actually try to really change ourselves. When we just try to change our food, we don’t develop the strength that makes changes last. There is always a temptation just around the corner; a girls night out, a food day at work, and M&Ms in the checkout line. We don’t make good choices when we think this is just a physical process that involves our bodies and not our minds.

When we put our emotional-selves on a plan, our physical changes have a chance of lasting. I think that is why the Whole30 is so powerful. I realized that the Whole30 has helped me make the 5 changes to overcome emotional blocks suggested in the blog post:

1. Positive Thinking!

Believe in yourself and the path you’ve chosen

2. Practicing compassion, unconditional love, and acceptance

Accept yourself for who you are and open yourself up to learning and growth

3. Remember all the symptoms we are trying to resolve!

Bloating, fatigue, illness, guilt, anxiety, mood swings, and so much more.

4. Find support

Surround yourself with people who understand and support the changes you’re trying to make

5. Be creative in the kitchen and have fun

Try new things, and enjoy being healthy! Find a way to share them with others (that’s you!)

There are a lot of parallels between the Whole30 and this message.

So, trust me even though I’m sugar free. Stop eating crap. We don’t need it. We want it. And having it makes us want it more.

Remember, we choose health with our bodies–and our minds.

WOD

Fun times with the 5:30 pm class!

3 Rounds, Rotate Each Minute

Dumbbell Thrusters (25lbs/15lbs)

Wall Ball Sit Ups (20/14lbs)

Box Jumps (24/20 in)

Ring Dips

Rest for 1 Min between each Round

RX, 232 reps

STRENGTH:

Back squat: Worked up to 7 reps at 150 (85% 1RM)

Food:

Breakfast: 2 eggs, chicken sausage and spinach hash, sweet potato latkes, 1/2 avocado

Lunch: Leftovers. Glamorous.

Snacked on these while I made dinner.

DINNER!!! New recipe. So good.

This is a totally unique dish with awesome flavor. If you like international foods, check out this recipe from Whole New Mom for Pakistani Kima (Beef Curry).

Its not exactly Whole30, so I made some changes.

My ingredients:

1 onion

1 clove garlic

Sautee in coconut oil.

Add 1 lb grass fed beef.

Cook. Add spices. I doubled the amounts from the original recipe, except the salt.

Curry, tumeric, ginger, salt, pepper, cinnamon

Then I added a head of cauliflower and 2 cans of Muir Glen fire roasted diced tomatoes.

I wish you could smell my kitchen. This was stunningly good. I was surprised actually.

Sauteed some brussel sprouts.

And dinner was served.

Good news is I have tons of leftovers.

Then I watched a romantic comedy (don’t tell anybody) and had some coconut cream that I made with coconut milk and raspberries. Topped with coconut.

Don’t eat crap. Eat coconut.

Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Daily Reports, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 49

  1. Donna says:

    OMG! Loved the blog and shared it on Renovate Your Lifestyle’s page as well as my own. You are simply amazing, beautiful, and wise beyond your years! I’m thrilled to be on this journey with you and I’m inspired to love and honor myself more sincerely. Thank you!

  2. mom says:

    Great wisdom…. love ya.

  3. Cindy says:

    So true. And such a description of me. I always want the junk knowing that I don’t need it and will have the guilty feeling afterwards. Vicious cycle!!!

Leave a Reply

