Day 39

Really quick post tonight. If you haven’t read yesterday’s post–check it out! 5 new recipes and a very motivational article. Click here to read Day 38.

Here’s a quote that stuck with me when I read it today. Not surprising since there is a lot going on in my head at the moment.

“A lean, sculpted masterpiece of a body is first created in the mind, then by your actions. It’s a game against your own human nature, it’s going beyond your ideas of what’s acceptable and reasonable to do to achieve your goals. Most people don’t reach to their full potential, not because they don’t have the basic knowledge about the key components diet and exercise — but due to focusing all effort in the gym for working the physical muscles while giving no time to strengthening the mind.” — Pauline Nordin, Fighter Diet via Bellatrix Nutrition

When I read this I think not only about the intended topic (developing a lean body) but about how this is a metaphor for other types of personal challenge and change. Do we try to change something, thinking we’re attacking it directly, when we haven’t invested the time and energy in something else that is not only related, but even more important? I think this happens often.

I will focus you in on what I think is the most powerful statement:

It’s a game against your own human nature, it’s going beyond your ideas of what’s acceptable and reasonable to do to achieve your goals.

I believe that as human beings we want to challenge and change and embrace opportunities to grow. But it is possible that our nature doesn’t situate us that way without our energy and effort. And if we truly want this growth, we have to embrace and strengthen our whole self, our body and our mind.

When I think about everything I am investing in strengthening my body right now, I’m proud. When I think about everything I am investing into strengthening my mind right now, I see room to grow.

There is comfort in knowing that if I invest in my mind, I will strengthen my whole self. And, along the way, I’m bound to make some progress on a few things weighing on me at the moment. Growth=Good.

WoD:

“#gameplan”

Complete as many reps as possible of the following in any order (you can do 5 HSPU then move onto 5 C2B, etc):

10min cap

15 HSPU

15 Clean N Jerk (135/95)

20 Chest to Bar Pullups

20 Thrusters (135/95)

30 Toes To Bar

50 Swings (53/35)

60 Box Jumps (24/20)

I did: 15 HSPU, 50 RX Swings, 60 RX Box Jumps, and 5 RX Clean & Jerks

STRENGTH:

Back Squat – WU, 75%@5, 85%@3, 95%@AMRAP

Worked up to 7 @ 155

Sleep-1030-530

Water-6

Food

2 PWO muffins

Breakfast: Hash, 2 leftover sweet potato latkes, 2 eggs

Lunch: Spinach salad with leftover coconut curry chicken and leftover brussel sprouts

Dinner: Leftover carnitas

Coconut manna.

This entry was posted in Daily Reports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 39

  1. Donna says:

    Such a powerful quote! And, one I stand behind as the mind is key to our success. How we think and approach life is critical to building a solid foundation of daily success habits. A valuable life experience! I just love taking this journey with you – so meaningful! Thank you for sharing it with us. You are doing marvelous!

  2. mom says:

    Great …. insight. Applicable to everyone! Any age….. any situation. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

