Day 38

Last night was one of those nights that if you had read about it in the parenting manual, you may have just stuck to cats or guinea pigs.

I’m not sure if it was all the hands touching the chess pieces or the 5 cookies followed by Cold Stone after the “daddy and daughter” dance, but poor Pearl spent the evening with tummy issues.

All of this started, of course, just after two tired parents who went to bed way too late had just fallen asleep.

So needless to say, when I woke up this morning (15-minutes of sleep later), I wasn’t quite myself.

I’m not sure if it was all of the bleach I used to clean the bathroom last night or the fact that the coffee wasn’t ready yet, but I began to worry about my social relationships and the Whole30. You’re wondering where the connection is here. I know.

You see last night, before the trying parent moments, we went to a fundraiser for our wonderful school. I had a good time but if I’m honest, I wasn’t as comfortable as I’ve been in the past at social events. As I reflected on this, I came up with a few reasons.

The first possibility, as you’d expect, was the Whole30. I had a hearty snack before I went to the event and enjoyed coffee and water while I was there, but skipped the bar, dinner, and dessert. Nothing I haven’t done before!

Another possibility is that I haven’t taken as much time as I’d like to get to know more people at the school. You know the drill–drop off, pick up, live in your own little world.

I began to get sulky when I thought about the connection between the two possibilities–wouldn’t the Whole30 be a total turn-off to new friends? Its not like the girl at the table without a drink in her hand or food on her plate looks, oh say, friendly!? Fun?! Social?!?

While I waited for the coffee pot, I checked Facebook.

As if the universe sensed my troubles, a friend had just posted a link to an article from elitefts.com that he had read on his gym’s site, appropriately titled Be a Little Different than the Norm.

Feel free to check out the whole article, but here are my take-aways:

  • Self worth is important to adults.
  • One cannot gain self worth but must instead earn it.
  • Some seek self worth through material goods, relationships, or jobs.
  • In a modern society, one of the best ways for adults to earn self worth is to “earn” your body. 

Here’s the bottom line from the article, “Therefore, in modern day society (for most of us), in order to achieve a body worthy of awe, you have to earn it. The best way to gain self-worth… is by doing the work with a larger purpose in mind. You’re busy creating something that others won’t do. You separate yourself from the crowd and know that you’re doing something that takes hard work, some effort, and some thinking.”

This article set me straight. If my quest to earn my body (and my mind!) makes me a little different, its all good. As I develop relationships with people who accept me for who I am, they will accept and appreciate what makes me a bit different. I should celebrate and value these differences because they are my choices along the path to greater self worth.

A cup of coffee later, I was back into the groove.

Rockin’ the kitchen, I made a great Whole30 breakfast:

Some Sweet Potato Latkes from Everyday Paleo

Some hash with chicken sausage, acorn squash, onion, kale, turnip, and mustard greens

Loaded up with the greens

And ready to eat!

And some eggs

Rob's scrambled

Mine fried

Later today, I tried some great new W30 recipes!

I started with Stovetop Pork Carnitas from Clothes that Make the Girl. This is a great recipe. I will definitely  make it again, thanks Melissa! If I changed anything, I would add just a little more dry seasoning because it is just so darn good! (I had 4# of pork from a boneless roast–my market was out of shoulder cuts)

Seasoning the pork

In the pot!

2 1/2 hours later!

Yes, it tastes as good as it looks

Then I was on to these amazing Coconut Curry Chicken Nuggets from a great site that’s new to me, 24/7 Low Carb Diner.

I had never ground my own meat before and it was so much easier than I thought it would be. I don’t think I will ever buy ground chicken again. This was much better (and better for me I think!)

The nuggets (So much better than any nugget I'd ever had)

Also kid-approved!


I have lots of these for salads and meals this week. Great change-up!

I also tried the Crispy Brussel Sprout recipe from Clothes that Make the Girl. Delicious!

Crispy Brussel Sprouts!

Here’s my dinner plate. I topped the carnitas with lime, avocado, cilantro, and green salsa.

Dinner Time!

And how’s Pearl, you ask? Well she kept me great company today. Here she is reading me a book.

So, all’s well that ends well.

As I type, Pierce sits alongside me strumming his guitar and singing with Chris Martin at the top of his lungs. They are singing about paradise. I’ve found it.

This entry was posted in Daily Reports, Good bits, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 38

  1. Donna says:

    Another successful day! And, yes in case you are wondering – I love your unique self! I’m inspired by your different approach to life. And, I think you ROCK in determination. You are enough just as you are, you are a perfect treasure just as you are, and your value comes from within not from something outside of yourself! You are an incredible, amazing, gifted child of God – a true miracle! And, I’m grateful to be a part of a life so blessed! Muah! Jen = priceless!

  2. Lynne says:

    Nice work. Eating, reading, cooking, working out, parenting, thinking and connecting them all – it’s called life – and I appreciate you sharing yours here. Although my children are older, and I’ve been done with my Whole 30 for nearly two weeks, my thoughts run similarly. I have retained most of the eating habits – and when I don’t, I wish I had.

    Get strong, stay strong!

Leave a Reply

