Day 22

Friday, January 27

Best thing that happened today (other than the health of my family and friends) is that I wore a pair of pants that I wore 9 years ago (and probably haven’t worn much since). 9 years ago–before I was married. Before pregnancy. Before kids. Before, before, before.

And, what’s better, is I have photographic evidence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay, its a little hard to see, but this is Rob and I circa 2003 (I’m 25!) in Palm Desert, California. And those are my pants.

And I would think it is a miracle, except it isn’t. I know exactly why it happened.

Another first today, food day at the office. It is interesting how the Standard American Diet (otherwise known as SAD–no irony there) manages to dominate. So, I made my most delicious (just assuming, didn’t actually taste it) Chex Mix for my co-workers. I joined them for lunch, but just sipped my water because I wasn’t actually hungry yet. I could tell that this was uncomfortable for some people but I knew that listening to my body was important.

Great adjustment today with Dr. Matt at Mitchell Family Chiropractic. That has been an excellent addition to the W30 for long term wellness and short term rehab.

Oh, and did I mention that I wore pants that I haven’t worn in a while?

Points=4food+1sleep+1wod+1water=7

WOD:

For Time: 50 Toes To Bar, 40 Front Squats (95lbs/65lbs), 30 Bar Facing Burpees, 20 Power Snatch (95/65lbs), 10 Curtis P’s (95lbs/65lbs)

I RX’d this in 22:57. Guarantee that is a record for length of workout if nothing else. Except the pride here for me is that every one of the fifty toes to bar was a rep. Considering I started the new year with one, maybe, on a lucky day, I’m going to be grateful, even if it did take a little (or a lot) longer than some of the others.

Water=7 bottles

Sleep=9 pm-440 am (wonderful sleep!)

Food:

2 PWO sweet potato egg white puffs w/ some awesome coffee at the gym because Janelle and Tommy bought a coffee maker! Thanks guys!

Breakfast: 2 baked eggs with turnip and chicken sausage hash

Lunch: 1 1/2 leftover pork chop with 1 crown of broccoli steamed and 1 sweet potato hashie

Snack: handful of coconut

Dinner: Curry shrimp (adapted from Caveman’s recipe) simplified: heat coconut oil, add 1 clove garlic (crushed), add 1-2 tbl curry powder, brown shrimp in skillet for about 1-2 minutes (I used 2 lb shrimp), add a little veggie broth to keep skillet wet. Then bake 350-375 10-15 minutes.

Also made some kale chips.

And some more sweet potato hashies (family hit)

And shared dinner with a good friend which was good for the soul!

Coconut manna

Wondering if my pants are comfortable enough to sleep in…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 22

  1. Kellie says:

    You are awesome…love your blog and being able to join you on this journey.

  2. I am so proud of you. Remember I knew you at 25 so I can confirm how great you looked.
    But such hard work, with kids, husband and career to work around. I love your blog it’s inspiration to everyone. Way to go!

    • So thoughtful Jeanine! Thanks so much. You’ve been with me the whole way! (Jeanine is my wonderful hair stylist btw for those who don’t know.) Thanks for being such a talented friend Jeanine!

  3. Melinda says:

    Congratulations on fitting into those pants from 9 years ago! That is awesome. I enjoy reading your blog entries; they keep me from eating poorly. This morning I had you on my mind when I made scrambled eggs with kale, peppers and mushrooms…yummy! I need to look up that recipe for sweet potato hashies…I love sweet potatoes.

    • Thanks Melinda! Your breakfast sounds delicious. I am so grateful to all of my readers for being my inspiration so I’m humbled I can be that for you! Have a great weekend and thanks again.

Leave a Reply

