Day 19

Tuesday, January 24

20120124-195240.jpg

Aren’t they cute. The end.

 

 

 

 

 

Alright, just kidding.

Another good day of the W30. Over the last few days, I have received some compliments (thank you!) about my W30 efforts: “You look like you’re losing weight!” “You look fit” “Whatever you’re doing is working” and so on. This sure is appreciated and motivating me to keep it up!

Something else that this helps me realize is that one of the challenges of the W30 (no challenge is too big to overcome!) is that the beginning (first 15 days or so) not only involves willpower to change (big change for some of us) but that it is also the time period without visible results that can generate interest and support from others. What’s really interesting to me is that some of the same individuals who have questioned or (not intentionally) criticized the W30 are the very same ones who have complimented me.

In other words, getting through the first 15 days requires brute strength, but from there your journey just continues to get more full and rich.

And so here I am on the eve of 20 days in. I remember wishing for double-digit days like they would never come.

Points=1wod+1strength+1water+4nutrition=7

WOD: 2 new great apps to track the WODs and strength: iphone users check out Workout Logger for Crossfit and Wendler 5/3/1

10 min AMRAP: 75 Double Unders, 50 Box Jumps (24/20), 25 Shoulder to Overhead (115/75)

Got through 1 full round RX exactly

Strict Press – WU – 75% @ 5, 80% @ 5, 85% AMRAP (55 x 5, 60 x 5, 65  x 4)

Water=6 bottles

Nutrition:

Breakfast: Made another turnip/chicken sausage hash today. Got a new variety of sausage–sun dried tomato. Yum! Topped with half of avocado.

20120124-195253.jpg

Lunch: Leftovers! Chicken and sweet potato delight with a cucumber and 1/2 avocado.

20120124-195258.jpg

Snack: 1tsp almond butter w/ celery

Dinner:

Started with some Kale Chips. When I’m cooking hungry, I like to have a healthy choice nearby.

20120124-195310.jpg

New recipe tonight from Whole Family Strong (great W30 site–their family is also doing W30 right now): Mexican Enchiladas. Their recipe uses beef but I had lots of great roasted chicken leftover so I used that instead. I added an onion and a red pepper, seasoned with chipolte chili powder, garlic, and cumin.

20120124-195315.jpg

I used cabbage leaves for the wraps. I was clueless about how to separate these leaves without tearing them. At least I found a way to work Martha Stewart into this blog (her cabbage tearing method here). Phew. That’s out of the way.

20120124-195319.jpg

I didn’t have the tomato paste to make the sauce, so I was lucky to have some of my favorite salsa verde handy. This is preservative free with W30 approved ingredients: tomatillos, onions, serrano peppers, iodized salt and cilantro. I added some veggie broth to about 1/3 of a jar of this salsa to make the sauce.

20120124-195348.jpg

Here they are ready to bake (I did 350 for about 15 minutes):

20120124-195327.jpg

Out of the oven, topped with fresh cilantro and lime:

20120124-195332.jpg

Served with brussel sprouts sauteed in coconut butter, tossed with a little fresh lime and salt (very good)

20120124-195336.jpg

Dinner! (With plenty of leftovers for tomorrow.)

Those who know me know that my enchiladas (the pre-W30 kind) were kind of prized. Sure, these aren’t them, but they’re great fuel for my body. And Rob even had seconds.

20120124-195344.jpg

Now just waiting for Obama to mention the W30 in his State of the Union…

This entry was posted in Daily Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 19

  1. Kellie says:

    You are such an amazing woman. I so enjoy reading your blog and love your recipes. Your progress and dedication certainly have been motivational.

  2. Janelle says:

    this is so awesome not only for you, but for your family! lucky lucky kiddos to have you!!!

  3. I love how you made the enchiladas your own! They look delicious! Keep up the good work. It is sooo worth it!

  4. Jessica says:

    Keep up the great work Jen!! That green salsa is my favorite! I also buy the fresh salsa at Sam’s and it is all clean, W30 ingredients and put it on eggs, everything!

  5. The food looks good, but those kiddos are PRECIOUS! So adorable!

Leave a Reply

