Day 15

Friday January 20, 2012

You’re so happy. You’re great. I mean usually when you’re on these things you’re a bear. But not this time,” Rob McDade, circa 2 hours ago. I think he approves.

Points=4 nutrition+1water+1sleep+1 wod+1 strength=8

WOD: 10 Handstand Pushups, 15 Wall Balls (20lbs/14lbs), 20 KB Swings (53/35lbs), 25 Deads (185lbs/135lbs), 100 Double Unders, 25 Deadlifts (185lbs/135lbs), 20 KB Swings (53/35lbs), 15 Wall Balls (20/14lbs), 10 Handstand Pushups

17:something RX except hspus (first round on box, second round in band backpack)

STRENGTH: Deadlifts – Warm up – 5 reps at 75%, 5 reps at 80%, 5 reps at 85%

125, 135, 160 (probably should have started higher–huh?)

Water=6 bottles

Sleep=950-450

Food (in reverse order tonight):

One taste of this and I thought about turning this into a Whole 90. Seriously. Apparently the coconut butter was just a warm-up.

20120120-211927.jpg

Dinner. Brussel Sprouts and Meatloaf Muffins from Everyday Paleo. (I didn’t use the EP brussel sprout recipe, just the meatloaf recipe.)

20120120-211934.jpg

Instead of making a large meatloaf which would take longer to cook, I made these small muffins.

20120120-211945.jpg

And cooked them in muffin tins. Plenty of leftovers! And really good. Rob liked them!

20120120-211952.jpg

Made a great snack while I made dinner. These Kale Chips rocked! I found some very fresh looking kale and broke it into pieces, sprinkled it with olive oil and salt and baked it at 375 for about 12 minutes. I kept checking it and pulling out the “done” ones and baked the rest a bit longer. I munched and munched. I ate them all. But take my word for it, a tray of kale chips beats a bag of potato chips any day of the week.

20120120-212001.jpg

Here’s the kale ready to bake.

20120120-212009.jpg

Lunch: Leftover flat iron steak chopped over spinach salad. I added the leftover veggies from last night also.

Breakfast:

Turnip hash with 2 eggs. Had my first turnip today. Very tasty! It was like a cross between a potato and a radish with some sweet.

20120120-212016.jpg

It was very easy to cook with. I took a turnip and peeled it.

20120120-212021.jpg

Then I chopped it and added a chopped onion and 2 links of Bilinski’s sausage.

20120120-212026.jpg

PWO 2 of the staples! (Sweet potato and egg muffins)

Taking tonight to relax and enjoy the halfway mark. Much more to come in this adventure!

This entry was posted in Daily Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 15

  1. Michelle Zeller says:

    Jen, love your comments and your recipe’s! You are an inspiration to all who reads this and I am so happy for you!

  2. Wendy English says:

    I love reading your updates everyday, you are inspiring the English family:) I love the pictures of the food and you’re different recipes. I’m curious about the picture of the eggs, they look like cupcake shape, how do you cook them? I’m also going to try making those kale chips, they look like a great new twist to a vegetable. Keep up the great work you seem like you are doing great on your journey!!

    • Hi Wendy! So good to hear from you! Yes, this is quite a journey and I’m loving every step (quite surprised about that actually). Great question on the eggs. For my breakfast eggs, I use a 12-cup muffin tin (standard size) and line it with foil/paper liners (to help with cleaning). Then, I crack a whole egg into each cup. I don’t do anything to the egg at all, just dump it in the cup. I put this in a 400 degree oven for about 15-20 minutes or until the cups are set. When I’m done, I cool, store in a container, and stick in the fridge. Eggs are ready to go anytime you need them–warm them if you like them hot or eat them cold. I hope you like them. I hope you like the kale chips also. When you’re done with those, try the brussel sprouts chips from nom nom paleo. Those rock too. Take care! Jen

  3. Donna says:

    I’m going to miss reading and participating in the blog while I’m sailing the Caribbean. Know I will be thinking of you and sending positive love and energy your way. Love, hugs, and kisses! Rock on sister.

  4. Kristin Y. says:

    Jen – keep up the great work!!

  5. Margaret says:

    All looks super yummy! You are doing such a fantastic job! Kale Chips last about 5 minutes in our house. We all crowd around the island and they never make it to the table. Off to make Sweet Potato Paleo Pancakes for breakfast!

    • Hi Margaret! Thanks so much for your support. Those pancakes sound delicious too! In my house for the time being I’m the only taker on the kale chips but I’m working to change that. Thanks for following the blog!

Leave a Reply

