Sunday morning breakfast: Acorn Squash, Apple & Sausage Hash w/Egg

Happy Sunday Whole 30-ers (and other healthy people)!

I woke up today needing a new recipe. I was feeling a little drudgery about the W30 deal  I’ll be honest–I thought about pancakes and waffles and scones and muffins and doughnuts and coffee cake. And then I realized, I just need something new!

I browsed the interwebs and then surveyed the kitchen. Here is what I came up with.

Acorn Squash, Apple, and Sausage Hash with Fried Egg

I didn’t have any sweet potatoes which probably would have been my go-to, but I had an acorn squash. So I peeled and chopped it. I also peeled and chopped an apple.

I didn’t have any meat in the fridge but I did have some Bilinski’s chicken sausage in the freezer so I defrosted it

20120115-093423.jpg

Here is the recipe:

1 medium onion, chopped

1 medium apple, peeled and chopped

1 acorn squash, peeled and chopped

5 links Bilinski’s chicken sausage (I used mild italian variety; check for W30 approved ingredients)

cinnamon to taste

salt and pepper to taste

Eggs to fry or scramble (or anything else)

Here’s what I did

In skillet, warm olive oil

Add onion

Add squash and apple

Cook for 5-10 minutes

Add chopped sausage

Cook for 10 minutes

Season

Here is a pic of the skillet:

20120115-093430.jpg

Then, fry or scramble your egg/s and serve over the top:

20120115-093438.jpg

W/2 fried eggs

20120115-093447.jpg

w/1 Scrambled Egg

Great reviews from me (W30) and 2 non-W30 adults!

Many more new recipes later.

Happy Sunday!

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday morning breakfast: Acorn Squash, Apple & Sausage Hash w/Egg

  1. jpomfret says:

    Looks good, I think breakfast is the hardest meal to deal with on whole30, this is my 2nd and I still miss toast and cereal for quick breakfast. I made primal cereal this morning from one of the Primal Blueprint recipe book and that was great. Just nuts, banana, some cinnamon and coconut milk in a blender, served hot with berries. (Recipe is here: http://paleoperiodical.com/2011/04/15/recipe-shout-out-primal-blueprints-primal-hot-cereal/) Delicious, made some to keep in the fridge for before work tomorrow.

  2. Pingback: Day 10 | Jen's Whole 30

  3. Pingback: Get your BYOB ON #Whole30 | Jen's Whole 30

  4. Pingback: Day 12 | Jen's Whole 30

Leave a Reply

