Day 10

Sunday, January 15

Day 10! Double digits baby!

I don’t know if it should, but this day  just feels like a milestone. I celebrated tonight by going to see Contraband with Rob. Solid flick. Marky Mark in my all-time favorite genre–guns, crime, and muscles. I’m a simple gal.

But what does that have to do with the Whole 30 right?

Points=4food+1water+1sleep

Water=6 bottles

Food

So today I cooked Sunday style.

Believe it or not, I wasn’t really feeling W30 when I woke up today, but I knew I could shake it if I changed my attitude. So, I kicked it off with a downright yummy Acorn Squash, Apple & Sausage Hash (check out the recipe for more details on that but here’s a pic). This along with some Blue Mountain Coffee that a friend brought me from a recent trip to Jamaica and I was set.

20120115-222914.jpg

For lunch, I had leftovers from last night’s crazy good Roasted Chicken and Butternut Squash Soup.

20120115-222906.jpg

As mentioned, I did some cooking. Here are the Sweet Potato and Egg PWO muffins getting ready to roll. I’ve mentioned this to a few people, but I line the muffin tin to keep it from getting too hard to clean.

20120115-222752.jpg

And adding cinnamon to the sweet potatoes when browning them makes those muffins really tasty.

20120115-222800.jpg

I found a wonderful, huge bag of Brussel Sprouts at Sam’s the other day. Here are some roasting in garlic and olive oil. Note the other thing that this photo proves–you don’t need a clean oven to do W30!

20120115-222817.jpg

Ahhh…leftovers. Going in the fridge.

20120115-222806.jpg

And saving these for tomorrow when I plan to make these Brussel Sprouts Chips from Nom Nom Paleo. She’s doing W30 right now too and I love her site. You should check it out if you haven’t already.

20120115-222811.jpg

I skipped a family outing to the Lincoln Museum in Springfield today. But I did get a present from my husband. I think these napkins are a thank you gift for all of the delicious W30 meals I’ve been preparing. This probably looks better on a napkin than the other quote of the day, “Its not a cleanse, it’s a cult.”

20120115-222900.jpg

Now we all know that one of my greatest virtues is white flour and so I used some to make pizza dough for the non-W30 diners at my dinner table. So there.

20120115-222829.jpg

Meanwhile, I switched up the Garlic Shrimp & Paleo Couscous recipe to make it Mexican style. And had some Brussel Sprouts (these, chopped and sauteed in olive oil).

On this variation, I dropped the curry and substituted garlic, salt, and some adobo mexican seasoning. I dropped ghee/broth and used a green salsa instead to coat the shrimp to bake it. (all W30 approved of course)

In the couscous, I added green salsa, chopped red pepper, and fresh cilantro.

I used fresh lime on both.

It was delicious but I have one change for next time. I will not use any seasoning that has salt. I like salt a lot less than the average human being anyway, but the combo of the seasoning and the salsa was too much for me. I may back off on the garlic too.

All that said, this recipe is very versatile and I’m glad I switched it up. I will definitely make it again. I really like how the shrimp is cooked. I am planning a Greek variety sometime soon.

20120115-222839.jpg

20120115-222845.jpg

20120115-222850.jpg

20120115-222855.jpg

The only other food I had today not mentioned/shown here was a snack around 3pm. I had a drumstick from the chicken from last night, a 1/4 container of blueberries, and a spoon (or two) of coconut butter.

No work tomorrow to observe Martin Luther King Day. Chess tourney for the kids. 9 am WOD for me.

Double digits baby.

 

 

This entry was posted in Daily Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 10

  1. Congrats on hitting double digits! Just think, a few more days and you’re halfway there! I’m going to have to check out Nom Nom Paleo. I’m new to this world, so I’m just discovering blogs/recipes.

    • Thanks Angie! I have lots of links on the blog, including many Paleo sites and others doing W30 as well. I also have lots of pages linked to the FB page if you check that out. Please keep checking back and let me know if you have a specific resource you’re looking for. I still have many more to post! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

