Day 3

Sunday, January 8, 2012

Another great day! A few firsts today–my first time in a movie theater on W 30 (no popcorn!) and my first time dining out. I also set a goal for myself to make three new recipes from three different sites today (so that I would have lots of good leftovers for the week) and I’m thrilled to say I did just that!

Rob and I also went to see The Descendants, not surprisingly nominated for 5 Golden Globes. We both agreed this was definitely worth seeing.

Points=4 food+1 water+1 sleep=6

Sleep=11pm-7:30 am

Water bottles: 5 (32 oz per)

Food

Breakfast=2 sweet potato latkes, 2 1/2 eggs fried in coconut oil, 1/2 link Bilinski’s Organic Chicken Sausage

First things first, I always like to make a nice breakfast on Sunday morning. Today being no different, I found this Sweet Potato Latkes recipe on Everyday Paleo.  Like Sarah, I served the latkes with eggs fried in coconut oil, but I added spinach and yellow pepper to the eggs as well. I also added a bit of Bilinski’s Chicken Sausage purchased at Naturally Yours. (I used the Italian variety, strict W30 participants should check their variety of choice since some do have ingredients that are not W30 approved.)

20120108-212511.jpg

Lunch=3 small pieces “fried” chicken and 1 1/2 cups brussel sprouts sauteed in coconut oil

Yum! I was looking for a lunch recipe that would also feel like a Sunday meal and I found this Breaded Fried Chicken Fingers recipe on Delightful Taste Buds. Looks like Jos, the author of this blog, is doing W30 currently also. (By the way, I’m really delighted with all the sites I keep finding. I keep trying to post links when I can on the Home page of this site. I updated several last night.)

Best quote about this meal from NW30 Man, Rob, “I know it’s not KFC but it’s pretty good,” referring to the fact that the almond meal and spices was delicious “breading.”

Photo of Lunch Plate

20120108-212505.jpg

Meal Prep

I mentioned my meal prep goal for the day which I decided was a perfect fit for my Sunday. I made a dozen of the PWO Sweet Potato & Egg White Puffs I posted about earlier. I can’t wait to have two after my 5:15 am WOD tomorrow.

I also made extra of the fried chicken.

20120108-212458.jpg

And roasted a sheet of brussel sprouts with coconut oil and garlic.

20120108-212452.jpg

One of the nicest surprises of my day was when a fellow W30-er, my friend Ali, shared some homemade W30 mayo with me. I had been contemplating a cabbage slaw to accompany the fried chicken but, I won’t lie, felt a little intimidated by the mayo. My friend Ali, though, she’s AMAZING in the kitchen (and at many other things–she’s a real Renaissance woman). Thanks for the mayo! It is so nice to be able to share W30 tips AND treats.

DINNER=2 plates of spinach salad, no dressing (see photo) and 1/2 of a 18 oz Ribeye at Alexander’s Steak House

I was pretty nervous about eating out but I’m not willing (or silly enough) to give up date night! I chose Alexander’s because I knew I could have W30 approved food as well as prepare it myself to ensure that no non-W30 ingredients were added (not on my watch anyway)!

It was delicious. And I realized as we ate the Broncos-Steelers game was finishing up (big finish), and I thought about the fact that by the time 2 NFL teams get to the Super Bowl on February 5, 2012 that the Biggest Winner Challenge will be over! That doesn’t seem like a long time at all, so I better stick to it and act like this is my Super Bowl.

20120108-212445.jpg20120108-212437.jpg

So, a great day! New recipes from new sources, food in the fridge for the week (the beginning anyway), some great family time, and some help from my W30 friend Ali.

Bring it on, Monday!

This entry was posted in Daily Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 3

  1. Molly says:

    good for you Jen! all sounds amazing and you are planning.. that is the key (at least for me anyway when trying to follow even 80/20 paleo!).

  2. Pingback: Day 4 | Jen's Whole 30

  3. Pingback: Day 5 | Jen's Whole 30

Leave a Reply

