Day 2

Saturday, January 7, 2012

What a great day! Mostly because we are celebrating Pierce’s 7th birthday at the ISU Mens Basketball game and because we are kicking off the Biggest Winner Challenge at Fit Bodies CrossFit. For those of you interested in the details of this challenge, I will do a separate post with the guidelines for the challenge and some before photos (gasp ;</)

Since the challenge is underway, I will calculate points each day in addition to tracking my workouts, food and drink, and sleep.

Points 4 (diet)+1 (wod)+1 (water)+1 (sleep)=7

Wod
15 min amrap
10, 20, 30, 40, 50 double unders
4, 8, 12, 16, 17 (on the way to 20) 25 lb swings
2,4,6,8 burpee box jumps 20 inch box

20120107-162545.jpg

By the way, here is my group of Whole 30 partners-in-crime at Fit Bodies CrossFit today when we kicked off our contest. What an amazing group and what an inspirational workshop led by our coaches Janelle and Tom Ragusa and the one-and-only Donna Johnson from Renovate Your Lifestyle (also as promised a post about our Biggest Winner contest coming soon–hopefully tonight!)

20120107-162530.jpg

I mentioned the other highlight of the day. Reggie Redbird rocked it with the kids at the game. And, how lucky are we that the party ended with football and basketball outdoors in January. In Illinois.

Water bottle count 5 (remember they are 32 oz each. I learned today that you should drink at least half of your body weight in ounces of water daily. I will spare you the suspense, today I weighed in at 159.5 pounds.)

Food

PW: 2 oz Emil’s turkey, small handful raw mac nuts (tomorrow making the new recipe my friend Jessica mentions below)

Breakfast: 3 eggs baked, 1/2 zucchini sliced dipped in 1/4 avocado

Snack: Handful raw unsweetened coconut & a few almonds, few slices apple

Lunch: Chicken salad made with leftover chicken with chopped apple, sauce: balsamic vinegar mixed with organic yellow mustard, and 1/2 avocado served over a bed of spinach

20120107-162506.jpg

Dinner: ***NEW*** experience. I hosted my friends for dinner (not new) but made W30 approved food for them and the Non-W30 Man living in my house (otherwise known as my husband). Of course, I was terrified that these friends would either starve or call and order a pizza. Neither happened.

This AMAZING recipe is something you should make immediately. Thanks to Arizona Caveman for his Garlic Curry Shrimp with Paleo Couscous recipe. DUDE.

My modifications: having not acquired Ghee yet, I used organic chicken broth instead of this ingredient. I didn’t miss the Ghee (I don’t think). I also used slightly less garlic than called for in the couscous because I ran out.

Just a few more words about this, the general idea of this recipe is tremendous. If you’re either not a curry fan and/or you want to repeat this more than once, I TOTALLY think you can change-up the flavors and additions, in the couscous especially. I can imagine a garlic, mediterranean, italian, etc., version of this.

20120107-202143.jpg

Post-meal, we had some coconut butter and a few berries. Even my guests were delighted with the coconut butter (no surprise to me there).

Here is my grocery cart today. WOW. Maybe many of you are like me. Convinced you could find any item in Jewel in the dark without a flashlight. Right now I’m mulling some thoughts around in my head, but I’m definitely planning a future post about how I felt different in the grocery store today. But that Jewel, she sure is something 🙂

20120107-202154.jpg

This entry was posted in Daily Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 2

  1. Jessica says:

    Hey Jen! Another great post workout meal is egg whites and half a sweet potato, that is when you need your carb and protein. I made these sweet potato puffs in muffin tins, egg whites, chunked sweet potato with a little cinnamon, you can just take them to the gym with you. I took the Whole30 class last September in Chicago, if you need any advice! You are awesome, way to go!!!!

    • Thanks Jessica! I will definitely be making those. And I will definitely be in touch to hear more of your W30 ideas. If you have anything to add to this crazy blog send it my way! I can link to you if you’re keeping notes somewhere. J

  2. Donna says:

    Good to see you this morning! So excited to keep up with your progress! I’m impressed you will be blogging each and everyday. I know you will build a loyal following – your energy and enthusiasm is amazing. Sending you love!

  3. Erika says:

    So glad you’re blogging about your whole30 experience! My boyfriend and I have been doing paleo since November and have been kicking starting whole30 in February. I think you have inspired me to go for it! There really isn’t a whole lot we’d have to cut out to transition from what we’re doing now and I think it would be really rewarding.

  4. Jen, so excited you enjoyed the Garlic Curry Shrimp recipe! Looking forward to following your updates. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

